the year’s best album, Australian or international”

~ Dave Faulkner, The Saturday Paper

… Empire has been acclaimed for its visceral mix of wired folk, gospel invocation, and rock’n’roll sparks … guided by Crighton’s imposing baritone”

~ Craig Mathieson – Sydney Morning Herald

From the ABC Music website:

Produced by established collaborator and sought-after drummer Matt Sherrod (Crowded House, Beck) in close co-operation with Crighton himself, Empire finds the singer-songwriter bringing a cinematographer’s eye for detail to bear on his incomparably immersive lyrical style.

Above all, Empire is a songbook of breathtaking insight. The flame of the human spirit is, in Crighton’s hands, shown to be the most powerful force at work in 21st Century Australia: one that produces both soot and shadow, but also guiding light, illuminating both the painful past and the difficult path forward.

Track Listing

1. Fire In The Empire
2. Let Love Come First
3. Devils tongue
4. Happiness
5. Me Brown
6. Sadness
7. 999
8. Morning Song
9. Julieanne
10. Rejoice
11. Someone
12. And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda

Similar works

Water and Dust

William Crighton Live & Acoustic At The Junkyard – Maitland, NSW

William Crighton

Skip to content